Friday, February 6, 2009

In sickness and in health...

First, I've got to get a grip on the sleeping arrangements around here...mainly with me and Drew...

Here's a typical day... (I don't mention Dan because with his job, Drew and I are home alone each week Monday -Thursday night...)
Both Drew and wake up between 4:30 and 5:30...yes, you read that right. I was the same way as a child. My mom never needed an alarm, I woke her up and told HER to get ready for work! HAHA The longer I am Drew's mom, the more I appreciate my own mom. She really is a SAINT! :) He is me, through and through...

So we're up early and out of the house by 8am. I drive Drew to Boonsboro to meet my stepmom. She's my daycare! He's with her and all is well for the day. I got to work and leave work a little after 4, to meet her again in Bboro by 4:45. NOW, most days, he does not nap...sooooo, he falls asleep in the car and is out until sometime really early the following morning. I rush home, put him to bed, collapse in the family room and usually fall asleep on the couch pretty early. I wake up at about 2:30 am to go to bed. Only thing is, I can't sleep. Thanks to some friends that work overnight shifts, I can usually find someone to chat with. I fall back asleep by about 3...

How crazy is all of this!??? CRAAAAAZY! I pretty much live my life chronically exhausted, can you tell??

Anywho...Drew had some trouble getting to sleep last night, and when we had our battle of wills at midnight last night, he came back at me with a croup-like cough. Sooo, off to the bathroom we went, for the first of our 2 steamy bathroom sessions. They really do help though. He's fine now. Although I am still not back to normal after some bad Japanese food last night...steer clear of hibachi scallops. I'm rebounding though, just not as fast as Drew. I can always tell when he's feeling better, he gets honery...

His latest list of accomplishments...
1. Drinking 1/4 bottle of cough syrup. Thankfully, he threw it all back up just as I was calling poison control...
2. Spilled close to 1/2 gallon of beverages throughout the day...milk, water, gatorade, lemonade, and my coffee that he decided he'd carry into my bathroom...leaving a trail of coffee stains in several rooms...
3. Getting ice cubes from the fridge and spreading them around the house...
4. Rolling large wooden blocks down the stairs... When I threatened to take them away, his response was, "you can't take the stairs away, I'll build new ones!" I didn't think I'd have to be more specific with a 3 YEAR OLD!
5. He keeps sabotaging my attemps to grab a quick nap!

I miss the days that I was in school and I'd get sick. My mom and stepdad would go about their days, and leave me to myself. The thing that stinks about mostly being an only child...you get used to be a loner way too much!

No comments:

Post a Comment